A Certain Naughtiness

I’ve not been at work much recently as I’ve been unwell, but as my husband pointed out, shopping is called retail therapy for a reason and I do have £30 of Waterstones vouchers sitting in my handbag waiting to be used appropriately. He thought it would do me good to venture outside and blow my cobwebs off. Shame, I was nurturing the Miss Havisham look… So it was with some trepidation that I ventured into town, fought off two panic attacks and ventured into the hallowed rooms of my local Waterstones. And then panicked again, because they’d had a move round and I wasn’t sure where anything was. And I still have change from my vouchers before you ask!

It didn’t take me long to find something that I wanted – The Night Manager by John le Carre. This has nothing to do with the forthcoming BBC series, I promise*, but I have read quite a lot of le Carre over the years and this one seems to have slipped through the net. And it was on BOGOF so… ** The other book was a small history of Russia immediately prior to the revolution which I’ve had on my Amazon wishlist for a while. The recent BBC production of War and Peace has made me want to find out a bit more about Imperial Russia and this seemed like a fairly good place to start.

But on my way home, I felt incredibly guilty. I have hundreds of books, most of which I have read but there are still a sneaky few that have ended up on shelves without having had a bookmark go near them. I really can’t justify buying any more books, even if I do salve my conscience a bit by passing them on once I’ve read them. In a sense, it’s a shame they were Waterstones vouchers – they would have been more useful to me if they’d been for BHS or Marks, I could do with some new undies. Anyway, there we are. I have been naughty and remain strangely unrepentant. Funny how book shopping can do that to you…

* If you believe that, I shall endeavour to sell you a used car.
** That’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it.

