A Film That’s Never Been Made That I Want To See

budapest film

There’s a throwaway comment in the main climactic battle scene of The Avengers, when Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) says to Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), “This reminds me of Budapest”, and he replies “You and I have very different memories”. Unsurprisingly, many fans of the film wanted to know what happened in Budapest – and wouldn’t it make a great film! It’s an intriguing back story and hasn’t, so far as I’m aware, ever been explained. What DID happen in Budapest for pity’s sake?

I was, however, delighted to see this mockup of a poster for the suggested film – I’m afraid I’ve no idea who made the original but would be delighted to credit if anyone knows. It’s very much in character for both Black Widow and Hawkeye and looks like it would be great fun to watch. All it needs now is a script and a director, and I think we may just get our wish.

Besides, Budapest is a beautiful city, so any excuse to film there ought to be taken with both hands…

