Poire Williams

poire prisonniere

There are a few slightly obscure liqueurs about that are proving harder to find. After dinner, people tend to stick with what they know, being brandy, amaretto or perhaps a creme de menthe. But this is something a little different and I’d love to try some – if only I knew where I could get my hands on it!

This is an eau de vie, or colourless fruit brandy, made from the Williams pear in Europe. In the US it is often made with the Bartlett pear. I have also seen this called Poire Prisonniere, due to the pear captured in the bottle – a simple trick where the bottle is attached to the pear tree while the fruit is in bud and the alcohol is added later. I’m told the drink, like revenge, is best served cold and in small glasses, but since I’ve never managed to find any I’ve no idea if this is true, let alone what it tastes like.

But what a wonderful bottle. I’d expect that would start a conversation or two after dinner, wouldn’t it?

