STILL LIFE WITH DARK HYDRANGEAS

still life 3

Having seen the National Gallery exhibition “Dutch Flowers” more often than is probably healthy, I’ve noticed that my Pinterest boards hold a number of photographic still lifes, of which this is fairly representative. It particularly caught my eye because the hydrangeas are the deepest blue I’ve ever seen.

I know that hydrangea flowers take their colour from the acidity of the soil – acid soils produce blue flowers and alkaline soils produce pink. I wonder if these blooms have sat in a jug of vinegar, the colour is so deep. It’s quite spectacular.

I also like the way the flowers co-ordinate with the vintage books on which the arrangement sits. It seems to have been very well thought out and I think would look very nice on a small table in a sunny corner.

I still think those hydrangeas are pretty wonderful though.

Leave a Reply

