Revisiting Rio

rio

You would think that after two weeks of Olympics and similar of Paralympics, I’d be sick and tired of Rio de Janiero, but I have to warn you that I’m not. In fact, I’m so not sick of it that it features almost as a character in the book I’m reading – specifically, the statue of Christ the Redeemer which, to all intents and purposes, is the symbol of the city itself.

The book is the first volume of the Seven Sisters series by Lucinda Riley, which I borrowed from the library on a bit of a whim and it’s absolutely fantastic reading – very easy and interesting with it. The main character, Maia, was adopted as a baby and, as an adult, she is trying to find out more about her background as a Brazilian (believe me, I am giving nothing away here). In so doing, she discovers her connection to Christ the Redeemer and quite a bit of the story goes back to show how the statue was created, imagined and (finally) built.

It’s fascinating. Never having been there, I’ve found out so much about the city and its people and also some of the famous landmarks – previously only seen during a cycle race or perhaps a bit of sailing. I’ve really enjoyed it and will admit to finding the bits about the statue interesting. I hadn’t realised it was built from steel girders, reinforced concrete and soapstone tiles! No wonder they managed to get it all the way up that mountain – it must have been in bits rather than one solid lump. Of course, interwoven with all this is a story of romance, duty and rebellion, which go a long way to making it a very comforting read on the train home.

I’m not sure how invested I am in the characters to continue reading the series, but now I have found out that the second one is set in Norway – a country I have been to once and saw very little of – I think I might just keep going for a bit longer.

