HUGH WALPOLE – THE SILVER MASK

silver-mask

Occasionally when I’m reading I find myself playing Casting Director and trying to work out who I would have portraying the characters if the story was ever filmed. I don’t do it often, but I did while reading this. I just had a vision of Tom Hiddleston and Julia McKenzie in the two leading roles that simply wouldn’t go away.

Some of my friends would suggest that I need very little reason to have visions of Tom Hiddleston, and they would be right, but he really is perfect for the part of Harry.

Essentially, the story is simple. A middle aged spinster is taken advantage of by a canny young man on the make, and when she has a heart attack he takes over her life. There’s more to it than that, but it would ruin the story if I went into every last detail. You’d have to read it yourself to appreciate the sense of growing menace that works its way through the story.

I have to admit that I think this would make a great afternoon drama on the BBC. Do you think they’d take up the suggestion?

Leave a Reply

