So Hawkeye’s a girl now? Great!

hawkeye

I am thoroughly enjoying the new Hawkeye comics at the moment. I have written previously about Occupy Avengers, which is thoroughly recommended (one of the best storylines out of Marvel for a LONG time) and I’m loving the new Hawkeye, who has undergone a few changes of late. Without giving away the reasoning behind it, let’s just say that Kate Bishop has now taken over the mantle of Marvel’s Favourite Archer and has got herself a cracking good story to go with it.

One of the things I’ve noticed (and appreciated) about having a female superhero is that it allows comic book writers to address issues that are important to women. Kate is also a private investigator and when a young student instructs her to find out who is stalking her online – and possibly physically – it’s possible to understand just why she is so scared. There are things that women just – get. I can’t explain it better than that, I’m afraid, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

That’s not to say that Kate isn’t great fun, she has some great one-liners and her archery skills – obviously – are worth seeing. I’m just grateful she’s not real, she’d win every competition she entered. It’s well drawn, nicely laid out and, as I say, the story is a really good mix of tension and humour. Issue 2 is out imminently and frankly I can’t wait to get mine – issue 1 ended on a bit of a cliffhanger and I really need to find out what happens next.

Leave a Reply

